atoll

By atoll

The Gulha Archipelago

With J just away to Sheffield Uni and me still fishing with Kempy, MrsB was feeling all blue and on her lonesome on Saturday, so she decided to make a marathon batch of 'Gulha' (The Maldives Islands style spicey Tunafish balls), taking about 12 hours off and on to prepare and make about 100 and in the process cheer herself up - my kind of girl!

She had only just finished cooking the final batch after I got back last night, and just before I went up wearily to bed at about midnight (having slept through United vs Wigan on MoTD). Wanted to stay to give moral support but it is tiring enjoying yourself selfishly.

I woke up early at 7:30 today and went down to make tea, and to slyly steal one or two of these delicious little 'short-eats' for my pre-breakfast breakfast. Couldn't find them anywhere though, even after looking in every tin and cupboard in the kitchen. "The sly old devil" I thought, and gave up looking. When I finally took MrsB some tea in bed at 10:00 she told me she had only left them in the oven for cooling overnight - doh!

We went for a long stroll through Knutsford late morning, and dropped off a batch of 30 Gulhas with friends Mark and Jeanette. Mark loves them and is off working in Sweden for two weeks tomorrow. He said he was going to take some to introduce them to his new Swedish friends. Start of MrsB's new export line perhaps?

This compliments my earlier Mas-Roshi blip 'Give Them a Twist, A flick of a Wrist'. I also found this recipe online, but have to say (with no bias) that MrsB's look vastly superior, especially when you see my scientific cut cross-section included for educational purposes. She also uses rice flour which makes the 'shell' thinner and crispier.

Only problem is we have to leave 20 or so for me to take to J's at Sheffield on Tuesday. Torment.

Postscript: MrsB has since prepared her own recipe so see this in the comments below.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.