Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Dragonfly in Flight

After a week in the office, and with no urgent chores for this weekend, I headed off to Swinley Forest near Bracknell for a walk and hope to see some "Action" for my current club theme (the forest has a "Go Ape" concession, and numerous cycle tracks used by novice and experienced cyclists alike). I also hope for some good fungus shots.

In the event, it was too dry for fungus, and the "Action" areas were too busy for my liking, so I headed off to a part of the forest I had never been to before and found a beautiful old mill pond. There were surprisingly few water fowl around, but darting across the pond were mayflies and some of the largest dragonflies I had seen.

They proved very hard to photo as they never land, never seemed to stop still and I was shooting mainly into the sun. However with some patience and a lot of luck I managed to get two half-decent shots. This one is the sharpest of the two and I prefer the background of sparkles (though these may be a bit prominent). I have posted the other as an alternative

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.