Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Childhood Memories

I "stole" a root of these Michaelmas Daisies from Mum's garden some years ago and they have come up reliably every year, reminding me of my primary school: St Michael's Church of England Primary School, East Wickham.

Michaelmas is the feast of Saint Michael the Archangel, and celebrated on 29th September. Every year the school also celebrated the feast, and I seem to recall walking in crocodiles to the mother church - a mile or two away - for a service.

Take note young parents among you - no cars or school mini buses then - and probably only one teacher supervising per class of 30 or so! Good old days or bad old days - you choose :))

We were asked to provide flowers, and the Michaelmas Daisy was the most favoured, especially as our school uniform was purple and yellow. So on those days I walked to school clutching my newly picked flowers to make my contribution.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.