Life through the lens...

By ValC

L'Appel du 18 Juin 1940

As well as Father's Day it is Voting Day in France, but to day they also celebrate the anniversary of the speach by General De Gaulle, broadcast from London on the BBC.
" La France n'est pas seule!"
( France is not alone)
" The flame of the French resistance must not be extinguished and will not be extinguished."
It became the battle cry of the Free French movement.
This is the celebration at 11am this morning at the war memorial in Vaison la Romaine.
In the distance you can see the remains of the medieval castle, high on the hill top.
I'm afraid the people attending this commemoration get less and less each year.

Mr C has enjoyed his Father's Day lunch sat on a shady terrace, with a view of the hilltop village of Crestet. Finishing with his favourite dessert, Peche Melba.
We are now back "home" and I decided to do my blip early.
He is fast asleep!

(I have just dropped my phone on the floor and it is now in bits!)

Hope you are all enjoying the beautiful weather in the U.K. too, and having a good weekend.

PS. I put the phone back together again, recharged it and it works!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.