Father's Day

Today we celebrate Father's Day (at least in the US ... not sure about the rest of the world!), and I had one of the very best fathers.  He's been gone for 34 years now, but I still think of him every day, and miss him terribly.  My mother died when I was twelve, and he was left to raise two young daughters single-handedly.  It couldn't have been an easy job,  but he did it with a lot of love, kindness, and good humour. 

This picture was taken in the early 1950's, when my parents were living in South Africa.  It's quite possible that my mother was in the early stages of pregnancy with my older sister when this shot was taken.  I wasn't even a gleam in my daddy's eye at that point! 

Speaking of wonderful Dads, the father of my three sons spent the last two days racing at Lime Rock park, and when he came home yesterday afternoon, he was sporting this rather jaunty Second Place ribbon!  He has been beaming ever since!  (See extra).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.