Turtle

I was fortunate to come across this Florida Soft Shell turtle this morning at Sweetwater Wetlands Park. She was a big girl! Females are larger than males and can reach 19 inches (49cm) in length, and this one was all of that. Soft Shell turtles have a lifespan of over 20 years! One in the National Zoological Park in Washington, DC, reportedly lived to the ripe old age of 36 years and 8 months! 
This is turtle nesting time and I would LOVE to see baby Soft Shells in the near future! She allowed me to get within 4ft of her, and whereas most turtles panic and pull their heads and legs into their shells, this one seemed very comfortable with my presence. Take a look at my *extras* to see a couple more shots of this wonderful turtle. Also in the *extras*...a Night Heron cautiously fishing very near a small alligator. Have a Great Week! :)

"Take a walk with a turtle, and behold the world in pause."
 -Bruce Feller

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.