Meet Rajswari Swaminathan

Today has been great. I was up first thing to get out on the mountain bike before the really hot part of the day, we failed as it was hot at nine o’clock when we set off.

We opted for an urban mountain bike ride as we’ve been out in the wilderness for the past few outings, so we took in the canal routes of the industrial Black Country.

I never knew European’s largest Hindu Temple was situated so close, in Oldbury of all places. You wouldn’t see it from the road so to you need to know where to go if you want to see it. I could never of imagined what I would find at the end of the drive way, I was certainly in for a treat.

A collection of smaller temples plotted around the area with the huge main one centre stage (See Extra). I don’t know whether it was because of the glorious weather but it really felt like I had been transported abroad. It was a magnificent place.

As we wondered around we met Rajswari and her husband who were so friendly and nice, they even invited us into the temple and offered us food. We declined this time as we were mid bike ride and wanted to carry on, we have been offered a return visit which I think we will have to take up.

We chatted for a good twenty minutes and Rajwari told me all about the wonderful open community they have built not just for Hindus but for anyone who wishes to visit.

Rajwari continued to tell me about her past from being born in Madras, India, travelling, living in Singapore and finally coming to the UK. She first lived in the Cotswolds and would travel to this temple regularly but decided to move to Tipton to be closer.

A fantastic interaction I didn’t expect to have today.

Over to my sisters in Shrewsbury to continue the fathers day celebrations with a lovely meal.

The old man even let me drive his Focus RS over there and back, what a blast.

Mr Bo Hingles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.