Gillipaw's Journal

By Gillipaw

My Big Yin - 3,000 Entries

We much enjoyed the BBC1 programme last week, "Portrait of a Lifetime", documenting the story of three portraits created to celebrate Billy Connolly's 75th Birthday. These have been reproduced as giant murals in the city centre.

Off we went this afternoon, first to view the three original works in the People's Palace on Glasgow Green. From there, a walk to find the murals.
Lots of folk stopping to enjoy them, commenting and taking photos.

I have chosen my favourite by John Byrne, "Billy Connolly 2016", to be found near St Enoch's Centre, on Old Wynd off Osborne Street.

The extras of the Vettriano "Dr Connolly, I presume?" on Dixon Street, off St Enoch's Square. And the digital image by Rachel Maclean "Big Yin 2016", on the Gallowgate near Barrowland Park.

3,000 entries. I can hardly believe I have kept this going for so long. It has been quite a journey. Thank you to everyone who drops by, it is much
appreciated. There are some adventures planned as I carry on Blipping.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.