Happy Father Day - dad

Being fathers day my sister and I split the time with our dad so we can have some alone time with him.. Unfortunately this was one of his bad moments being incoherent and random. Still I was able to read the card I got for him and he looked right at me and smiled.. A priceless moment.. 

The card had a young boy and his father in a boat on a lake. When I first saw the card my mind went back to the trip my dad and I took to Glacier National Park. At the time to fish you didn't need a license but you could only keep a certain kind and size.. Well we rented a boat and between two dock hands and me, we were able to get my dad into the boat.. We asked many fisherman what they we using and if they were catching anything.. The common answer was not even a bite.. About the time we had to go back to the shore my dad caught a fish.. The only one known caught that day up to that time.. The happiness and smile my dad had I will remember forever..    

When I started this blip journey I had no idea where it would take me. The highs, the lows and everyday life. One of great part that blip has touch me is the documentation of the decline in my day over the last few years.. Going back.. Seeing the great times we had.. Then places we have been.. and... 

I almost decided not to blip this photo of my sleeping dad. He isn't in his best Sunday clothes, no smile, and... but being fathers day and how I wanted to document this moment posting it won out...

Happy Fathers Day to dads everywhere

(had life worked out differently I would have been a father at the age of 17 but it wasn't meant to be and life moved on)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.