The macro bug

After chatting yesterday with Chris, I was keen today to have a bug hunt with my macro lens.  It's always tense taking off my long lens in case I miss something but I was brave!  And very glad I was too when I noticed this flying beastie in the grasses.  

As yet unidentified but have posted it on ispotnature, hopefully for a name.  It looks like it'll be obvious if you've got a clue about bugs but I can't find it online (not having a clue about bugs!).  I found a photo of the very same thing on a forum but it said it was a wood wasp.  Looking up wood wasps, there's nothing like it that I can find!  I'm thinking parasitic wasp but if you have any idea, I'd love to know.

It's 'ot!

Little Dog has been under the watering can three times but my study is like a cool cave downstairs so I'm actually sitting in a thick jumper and shorts! 

UPDATE:  Think I might have found him... 
parasitic wasp, amblyteles armatorius

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.