Rabbit Relaxing in the Early Morning Sun

I often get to see one or both of our bunnies in the early morning, right around the time I take Dexter out to sit on the front porch and greet the day. It's cooler at that time, and a rabbit might find the opportunity to snack quietly on the sweet clovers just as they are damp with dew.

I had Dexter in my arms, and we were sitting on a front porch chair. I looked out and laughed to see Genie Bunzini lying flat-out on the driveway. (Yes, sometimes the critters around here get awfully flat when the temperatures rise.) Dexter, for his part, was more interested in watching for chipmunks than bunnies.

I took the cat inside and went to get my camera. When I came back out, I was disappointed to see the bun had disappeared. Rats, no photo! But then I looked a bit further down the driveway, and there she lay, flat out, just as before, looking long and lean, her ears almost glowing with peach light in the early morning sun.

The soundtrack: Pat Benatar, Everybody Lay Down.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.