Leiflife

By Leiflife

All For The Sake of Light

There was a gathering of herons in the marshy inlet by Shearwater road when I took my walk; there are several families in the area. But visibility was poor because of summer growth. So I trekked behind the pottery workshops, braved the possibility of snakes and a very hot sun...only to see heron after heron take flight and soar away from my hungry camera lens. I was about to retreat when a great flapping of wings right over my head alerted me that my chance had only just arrived. 

She landed in a tall pine glistening with sunlight only a few yards from where I stood, obscured but for the long patterned neck, bright eye, and needle sharp beak. I thanked her by lingering in the direct heat of the midday sun,  basking in her beauteous and powerful presence. She was very alert and remarkably patient, and I was tested, but my fascination for the gift she offered kept me where I was. I saw a silent ululation ripple through her throat, saw her swiveling in the direction of our noisy neighbor herons. But she had staying power and so did I. Besides, I loved her...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.