Leiflife

By Leiflife

The Birth of Summer

For the summer solstice, Summer and I had planned a performance at the Walter Anderson Museum. We were calling it MOVEMENT IS BORN, but Tropical storm Cindy changed all that. Rain beat down; tornadoes and waterspouts were sighted and the flooding of roads made movement of any human sort near impossible. 

I stayed in my house with a vociferously complaining Pearl, and nearly went mad from the tormenting persistence of wind and rain. Periodically a shrill warning of some sort issued from my I-phone. By the second day of the storm, Cindy had found her way inside in the form of water dripping through the kitchen ceiling. Also that day, during a brief lull, I found my way outside and down Shearwater road where the water still dripped from the trees and the water ran in rivulets to collect at the lowest part. The air was steaming and my camera lens fogged over until my return walk. Then I photographed the road, enchanted by the lush green world I beheld. Summer had arrived...

I am pretty sure this post signals a blipday for me. I am embarrassed to say that after almost three years of being a member of the blip community, I have reached one year's worth of blips. So be it...
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.