Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Robin Hood

When we were out yesterday lunchtime trying to find somewhere to kill an hour or so, I first aimed for this village pub but it was closed. It used to be a favourite of mine a long time ago but that was in the days when it was acceptable to have one or maybe even two beers and drive home whereas nowadays I wouldn't even have the one if I had the car. The pub is in a 'dead-end' village and that is a fact rather than a criticism; there's only one road in or out of the village so no-one would ever just pass through, so this sign is at the junction of the village road and the through road. I was concerned that it might have closed altogether as it looked a bit down at heel so I went back again today to check and was pleased to see it was open.

And no, I resisted the temptation. Other things to do, unfortunately!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.