Cambridgeshire Wedding Weekend Day 4!!

Basildon Park, near Reading

A long, hot, tiring day… Was woken by the sound of children playing outside. Thinking I must have overslept, I jumped straight out of bed only to discover it was 5.43am! I have no idea what the children were up to at such an early hour! Maybe, like me, they’d found it difficult to sleep on such a hot, humid night. But on the positive side, it did mean that I was actually awake and up early enough to see M off to work at 6.30am, an hour of the day that I don’t usually see!!

I’d planned to stay on in Ely for a few days after the weekend, but as my parents weren’t sure of their route home, and as it was a long journey for them, I offered my services as navigator and returned home with them instead. Took a different route this time, via multiple motorways, hoping to avoid the many roundabouts of Milton Keynes, and once the very busy M25 was behind us, we decided to take a break.

Basildon Park was the perfect spot for a late lunch picnic, sitting under a wonderful old Copper Beech tree, providing welcome shade from the 33 degree sun. With comfy deckchairs to be had, a cooling breeze and a view like this, we found it very difficult to tear ourselves away and head back to the car to continue the journey westwards and home…

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.