angellightphoto

By angellightphoto

saved...

...from another butterfly image!

There I was, all poised to blip another gorgeous [take my word for it] butterfly, when I noticed our resident feral cat (the one that L blipped and everyone cooed at) skipping across the garden in the way she does when she has caught something. Usually, it's a lizard but today it was this gorgeous juvenile grass snake Natrix natrix. I think she was bringing it back to teach her kittens to hunt and kill because it was hardly damaged at all. As soon as she dropped it, I got it away from her and, although it was playing dead, I could see that it was fit enough to be returned to olive grove - this time further away from the cat's hunting ground. As soon as I put it on this rock, it started to taste the air and slowly slinked away into the grass...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.