gennepher

By gennepher

I am sitting out...

...in one utterly amazing incredible thunderstorm. I am sitting, swinging, on my covered thatched swing.

Popeye (cat) is scared out of his life and hanging on to me like grim death, looking startled every which way.

The neighbour's dogs cannot stop barking. I hear them in between the thunderstorm having a quick breath in between each incredible bout of fighting the most intense noisysome vibrating explosive battle. My swing, and it is a very heavy African thatched swing, is shaking with each renewed effort of battle. The ground vibratingly shaking is far exceeding any earthquake I have been in.

Extraordinarily large intermittent raindrops. I am having fun listening to this rain.

I am absolutely loving the heavens having this furious non-stop battle of the titans. It is all around me and overhead me. Not letting up at all. It has been going on for half an hour and is still going strong, each new burst of heaven fire even more intense and convoluted than the last. It is really blowing up the heavens.

There doesn't appear anything visual to see, just this incredible wrap around sound coming from every angle.

This is truly so amazing.

This really makes me feel alive.

It is moving away now a little. The sun is streaking out. Huge white clouds are manifesting themselves in a sky changing from grey to a little bit blue.

Lynx (cat) has crept out of hiding and is now sitting besides me.

The thunderstorm is now become more muffled now. So it has obviously moved on.

No it hasn't! It is like it is coming back!!!

Sounds like it threw one last fight of the Titan's swords and gunpowder explosions.

This remapping of the cochlear processor is obviously thunderstorm compatible! All kind of sounds and variations of sounds within this. It is such an amazing visual picture, but I was too busily interested in being totally entranced in this beautiful variations of noise.

This pic for today is my 3rd pic in a series of 3. I wrote more on Monday when I posted the 1st pic. It is watercolour on canvas. So this is my pic for today of my challenge to myself of a pic every day in 2017.

With being profoundly deaf since I was born, I've always loved thunderstorms, standing up in my cot, pulling myself up to see nighttime thunderstorms. I was under 11 months old (we moved then) and I would feel the thunderstorm on the wooden bars of my cot. Or if I was near enough the glass window I would put my hands on the glass and feel those amazing vibrant. As well as watching the magnificent display thunderstorms gave in the night sky.

I have always loved thunderstorms, but just felt them in vibrations (which was fantastic in itself) but never heard them. The mappings I have been given the last 7 years or so with this cochlear processor have never really picked up thunderstorms, just some sort of muffled sound.

But this new vastly different mapping which changed relations of sound to each other as well as drastically changing sound itself has been a struggle for my brain to come to terms with.

This thunderstorm was another matter however. I could feel the vibrations all around me in all its intensity, as well as hear it in all its splendour of battle. It was full wraparound stereophonic (being deaf I don't really know what stereophonic is, but I can imagine and this is the word I chose) sound, with me in this metal drum experiencing this amazing incredible experience.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.