Plus ça change...

By SooB

Out of hand

The sweet peas have well and truly taken over this year. I wonder if I sow them all over the bits of the garden where the six foot weeds are they'll take control there, or do they only want to grow here (where in theory I have roses and geraniums) and in the soft fruit bed (where they are currently swamping red and white currants).

Hot today. I had read that today would be the peak of the heatwave, but turns out tomorrow will be even hotter.

Some planting today regardless - but only in the pond - and a good deal of weeding and tidying before the weather drove me indoors to grumpy admin and planning when, really, I should be out there strimming, weeding, building and pruning. Planning the 'Japanese-ish' garden brought some much needed zen to the day. As did watching TallGirl's string of time-lapse photo/videos of the rabbits (with excellent photobombing by CarbBoy).

Later, a call from TallGirl's head teacher to confirm that the school trip will go to Brighton, not London (giving us a problem since Mr B was supposed to collect TallGirl in London). I was all set up with my stats on how much more danger they were in from a bus crash on the French roads than from terrorism in London, but in the end I couldn't be bothered. Too hot for fighting.

Now, watching the French version of Celebrity Bake Off. Not fab so far.

Edit: should also note that today I finally followed Mr B's advice and started listening to the West Wing podcast he's been listening to for a while - great stuff, though now I just want to watch it all again....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.