Midsummer Nights Shade

A steamy midsummer night, hot and sultry, even in the shade as we stay near Bath before tomorrow's pain clinic appointment.  Thankfully it should be all change overnight and much cooler and fresher tomorrow.  

Not much plantlife to blip around a motorway travel hotel but the nightshade caught my eye.  Aha I thought, deadly poison - Shakespeare - A Midsummer Night's Dream.  Great connection. Not!  This is Woody Nightshade (I think) while it has toxic berries it's not deadly like Atropa Belladonna, Deadly Nightshade.  A Midsummer Night's Dream is, of course a comedy (even I knew that) and while the potion used to kill Hamlet's father might have included Belladonna, Hemlock is more likely.

A trip into Bath tomorrow for the appointment, then on to London and an overnight visit to my Mum.  Yes Mum - if you're reading this, we are on our way.  See you tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.