an image of teamdel

By teamdel

Cav of Britain

Today we met up with some friends at the station and caught the train to Guildford to see the final stage of the Tour of Britain. As the race came through the high street midrace and then came back for the finish we made sure we got there early enough to get a good spot about 250metres from the finishing line right by the big screen.

After a bit of a wait the vehicles started to come down the race route (Some of the police bikes seemed to enjoy the racing up the high street a bit too much) and then the wave of cycles hit. It was very exciting and all the little ones liked it, particularly Boy. I managed to get some great shots of the riders and a few good ones of Cav and the overall GC winner Jonathan Tiernan-Locke

We then had a couple of hours wait before they came back through to the finish. We took turns holding our spot and the children did very well playing around us as the crowds increased. A strange woman decided she would come and push right in between us all and stand behind the children. I said excuse me I these our our little ones and she said. "Yes I have some at home of my own and if I stand here I will get a better view over yours." Eventually she realised we had been standing there for over three hours and that we needed to actually be next to our children in the huge crowd and asked if we minded moving to let her in by the side of us. Granny told her it was a good idea to move. Good old granny.

With the rude lady to one side we were ready for the riders who flew through. The crowds were massive and fantastic and the atmosphere was great as we saw Cav win the stage. I managed to catch hime as he started on his move for the line (he is the far rider) and as Wife cheered on. I love looking at all the crowd in the background.

We thought about hanging round to fight the crowds to see the presentation or anyone milling about but the train home was the chosen route getting us home in time for dinner.

A great day out with friends making a day out with little ones that bit easier and therefore that bit more fun. Watching the race back on the telly box tonight we even made the final cut, only for a second or so. Luckily my camera hides my face.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.