It's taken hours!

I can't believe I've just done this!

Last night I went to my first night as a member at the local camera club (Photographic Society!).  There was an excellent talk called "Lighten Up" by Gavin Hoey and I was intrigued!  I bought the DVD and the sparklers and all of a sudden late this afternoon I found myself getting out the tripod (unheard of), getting my sparklers out of the cupboard, finding the blutac , finding a tile, cleaning the black background to the hob, nearly getting the dvd player thingie out to look at the relevant part of the DVD (Then decided that was getting a bit too serious and decided to see if I could remember what had been done)

As you can imagine, being a novice tripod putter upper etc etc, this was no easy task.  AND I had to do it all by myself as SHH is off on a yacht somewhere down in Devon.   

I was supposed to be taking a shot of a bulb with sparks coming out of it.  But I needed another light really.  And I used TWO of my little supply of sparklers and my continuous shooting mode was a bit dodgy (i.e. I hadn't set it right I assume and I couldn't get it to work off my phone remotely.  Maybe someone will be able to tell me about that).  Also, my tripod wouldn't do the things Gavin's was doing last night, probably because it cost a tenth of the price of his...

Anyway, I tried, and I managed some shots with bulb and sparks and I didn't burn anything.  

THEN, Gavin had said we must get onto the computer and get onto Photoshop or Lightroom.  Now that is pushing me a bit far...  Again, what I've got on Photoshop Elements looked totally different to what he was working with on Photoshop and I couldn't find some of the slider things he was using, but maybe when  l look again another day maybe they will be there.  He also showed us an easy way to import the shots...  Heaven only knows what that was now...

Better get that DVD out...

Hope you like my sparky bulb anyway.

You would not believe how hard I have tried with this!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.