Flower Friday: Hypericum Calycinum

This is a bit of an EB taken in our garden as I've been out visiting friends almost all day. We had a lovely catch-up as I've not seen them for months.

Its name caused us some confusion. My Editor told me it's called "Rose of Sharon" but when I asked Google Images to show me "Rose of Sharon" it came up with something quite different! So I told the Editor that she was wrong - always a dangerous thing to do, but she took it very kindly, especially when Wikipedia showed us that she was actually right!. Seemingly Hypericum Calycinum is indeed called "Rose of Sharon" in the UK and Australia (& maybe other places, it doesn't say) - but in America "Rose of Sharon" is applied to a species in a different order, Hibiscus syriacus!

Hypericum Calycinum can also be called Aaron's Beard, Great St-John's Wort, and Jerusalem Star.

So now I know. How confusing! At least it's rather dramatically pretty - and it covers the ground well and helps to keep the weeds out :-)

Thanks as always to BikerBear for looking after Flower Friday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.