Arvin's Canon

First thing I did today was to deliver the three paintings to Moles for the celebration on Sunday. Maureen and I figured out where to put them, in the entry, on easels that they have, behind the table where people sign the guestbook. Then I decided to add a couple of memorabilia to the table. 

One of my favorite things is a small canon that Arvin built from scratch before I knew him. He carved the wheels out of some kind of hard plastic, made all of the parts himself, and made it to fit the round ball bullets that he could make in his basement. 

Before I knew him Arvin was into guns. He was an excellent target shot and did gun smithing in his basement. And he made the canon. It fit neatly into his lunchbox so he could carry it to and from work where he did the work on his lunch hour. I love the little canon. It is about 13 inches long, by 5 1/2 inches wide and 7 inches tall at the tallest point. It is truly a work of art.

Arvin would cast round bullets to fire from the canon but usually he fired blanks. He would load it with wadded newspaper and use a ramrod to push it down the barrel. Then he would use black powder and a cap to fire the newspaper. The canon made a very satisfying bang! We used to fire it off on 4th of July. 

I did a few more errands while I was out to be sure that the kitties and birds would have plenty of food while everything was happening this weekend, and that we'd have food for lunches in between the festivities. 

Everybody starts arriving this evening. Helena and Lynda are kind of stuck in Seattle this moment because their flight to Bellingham was cancelled. But it just happens that Jason is arriving in Seattle right about now so the plan is for them to get together and for Jason to drive them up. He was already planning to rent a car and drive up here for the weekend. I am very excited to see him and other family and friends who are arriving tomorrow. Steve is having a barbecue for us all tomorrow night. Happy family and friend times! I love it. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.