Party Time

I had a very happy and very busy day today. After breakfast my son Jason walked all the way up from the Airbnb where he is staying, about a three mile walk, the last mile up a very steep hill. We had a lovely time together. He had a late breakfast and we talked about deep philosophical stuff as we often do. My son is such an interesting man and I love to hear what he has to say. It always makes me think more deeply and explore new ideas.

Jason and I went over to Steve's to watch him pull the first print of a three plate etching he just finished. Steve asked me to take pictures so I did and posted them on Chaikins of Bellingham. He is really good at doing color separations in his head. This print has a field of bright colored flowers in the foreground. The key, or first plate is blue. The second is red and the last is yellow. If you take the link you can see the whole process. One note, Steve took off his T shirt so he wouldn't get ink on it, so he looks a bit less dressed than usual. 

Chris and Jyl arrived at our house from Seattle and we quickly drove over to see them. Steve had to clean up so he came over later. We all had lunch together and then Steve headed home to prepare for a barbecue this evening and to pick up his former wife Susan whose plane was due in.

Jyl rested while Chris, Jason and I headed downtown. I wanted to drive by a cute house that the realtor Jane had mentioned to me. So we drove there and decided to call Jane to see if she could show it to us. She was kayaking so we went to a couple of antique stores and then met Jane at the house. It was really charming. And I would have made an offer except that somebody already did and it was above asking. I decided not to make an offer myself. It really is too soon and though the house was really sweet, it was also more money than I hoped to pay, so I gave it a miss. Jane is going to keep an eye though to see if perhaps it falls through. And then I might reconsider.

By this time it was past time to go to Steve's for the barbecue. Susan had arrived and so had Peitsa, one of my ersatz brothers, Steve's boyhood friend from Finland. Carroll was there too and Dave and Nora and Dexter. We stopped at Helena's and picked her and Lynda up and drove home to pick up some food to take to Steve's. Chris, Jason, Jyl, Helena, Lynda and I walked over to Steve's to join the gang. 

We had a lovely time together. Jason and Chris played for us and Jyl sang. We had a delicious dinner and a great time talking, laughing and enjoying the music. When it was time to leave Dave and Nora took Helena and Lynda home. Peitsa joined Chris, Jyl and me as we walked back home. We talked along the way and then he walked back to Steve's. Now Chris and Jyl are in bed. Jason walked back down the hill to his Airbnb and I  am doing my blip. Tomorrow is the big day, Arvin's Celebration of Life. I know it will be a good day with lots of love and sharing. I am looking forward to it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.