Brick Lane before breakfast

Tyler gets me a job as a waiter, after that Tyler's pushing a gun in my mouth and saying, the first step to eternal life is you have to die.

Uber collects me unreasonably early and hauls me across to Shoreditch. We join professionals setting up the venue. The coffee stall isn't ready yet, so I head off to search for bagels on Brick Lane. I fail. Brick Lane is deserted and I head the "wrong" way, past rows of shuttered curry houses. I end up at Costas instead.

The conference gets underway. After a brief panic, Liz steps into the recently vacated first speaking slot, leaving me to indulge in the sessions. After lunch I head across to Citizen M to be grilled by a couple of BAs about a BDD session in presenting in September. It would be an understatement to say that I'm angry, but I'm polite and everything will be fine.

After the conference we drink beers. I stumble unwittingly into a colleague's grief over the death of her mother. Over the road, at Dinerama, I meet a potential client - it's quite a place: busy, hip, but ultimately unsatisfying. We head back to Brick Lane, now rammed with revellers, and end up eating a thali in one of the many purveyors of the same. And then another Uber whisks me home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.