I had...

...started another picture for today, but I put it down before I went for lunch, and when I came back I cannot find it anywhere.

I am doing this a lot at the moment, losing things. Once I am putting something down I cannot see it again...I have no idea where anything is...

Popeye is being very needy today. Yowling (I think the word is) his head off at me. I cannot move without him getting under my feet. I had to sneak out of the house to go and get some lunch or else he would have followed me.

When I came back he was asleep in my bed.

Equally, each time I see Popeye asleep, I touch him to see if he is still alive. When Popeye sleeps he sleeps the sleep of the dead. I have been poking him and prodding him all day...

Anyway I was sitting on my swing, and then ...something happens which has not happened for years...my cats have not caught birds for many years now...I have shown disapproval and they stopped doing it, but this afternoon Popeye comes towards me yowling with a sparrow in his mouth. He jumped up on my lap and I was all for rescuing the sparrow, when he dropped it in my lap. The sparrow was headless. Popeye looks at me as though to say here is lunch for you...I get the feeling Popeye is trying to take care of me....

Popeye is about 25 years old. He was born around 1992 in the summer to my black cat Amethyst. According to an online chart he is 116 years old in human years. (The last oldest cat I had was 14 years old, around 1985, and he too was called Popeye!). This Popeye is the oldest cat I have ever had. It makes me a wee bit anxious, after Lynx and Suki departing.

However, in the midst of all that, I lost my drawing which was of the thunderstorm the other day. I just cannot find it, nor can I find my pencils...

So, I put the iron on and did a little 6 inch by 4 inch wax encaustic painting. I was thinking about the thunderstorm as I did it. But, my plan had been to post the pencil drawing of the thunderstorm when I had finished it today, and I was doing to do a colour picture on it tomorrow...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.