A Day Of Culture

SWMBO and I went into town today to go to a couple of exhibitions.
We started off at the National Portrait Gallery where they had a pop up barber's shop -- no use to me as I had trimmed my beard and cut my hair this morning.

We were there to see the Hill & Adamson exhibition ....... amazing that salt print pictures have survived so well after 170+ years.
When we came out we had a look in the library and who should we see but George Bryce 1833 - 1864 (when he was hanged for the murder of a woman in Ratho). 
George is (or was) a relative of one of my brothers-in-law and this is his death mask.

After a sandwich, we wandered up to see the exhibition of the paintings inspired by Caravaggio (there were also some of his) but they are not in the same league ........ the ones we saw in Malta were even better.

I wont bore you with more pictures - but there is a selection from the day if you trawl around from the links.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.