Armed Forces Day

So, I had a choice today.....Armed Forces Day or International Handstand Day. If I could have got a soldier doing a handstand that would have been perfect but of course there is never a gymnastic soldier around when you want one is there...sigh. 

Grahame was supposed to come and chop the garden today, but the tools he had wanted to hire never materialised at the hire shop so he didn't appear. I think I shall start looking for someone else. 

I decided to nip into town to see what was happening for Armed Forces Day. The big events were all going on in Liverpool, but there was quite a gathering, stalls, military vehicles and a parade here. Everyone looked very smart with their shiny shoes and medals. I took a few pics before heading home to see if Grahame had been in my absence....he hadn't.

It was a spartan gathering of the coven today, just Ellen and me. But we had a scone and a cuppa and a good old chat. I told her it was International Handstand Day, but before I could say anymore she just said, "No!"
"But I haven't asked you anything."

"I know what you were going to ask and the answer is, No!"
"Are you sure, you could...."
"No!....not with my lung. I don't want it collapsing for a third time!"



The first time her lung collapsed was during a school trip to Chester Zoo about sixteen years ago. Ellen came along as a parent helper and she carried a few bags around with her group of children. Sometime during the day her lung collapsed and she blames me....in the nicest possible way ha ha ha. So it was probably best she didn't do a handstand. I didn't want to be responsible for a third deflation.

I picked up a bottle of wine on the way home and decided to see if my neighbour, Kathryn was in, she was....so we sat out in my garden and drank it all. I was tempted to try a handstand afterwards, but good sense rose above the alcoholic bravado....maybe tomorrow he he he. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.