Basket Fungi - again

(ileodictyon cibarium)

I spent most of the day at work to make up for not going in for a few hours yesterday.  It's amazing how much you get done when you're there on your own.  I beavered away until just after 3 when I realised that my nose was numb and my feet were heading the same way - the cold had snuck up on me.

I went home via the supermarket and on my way there I noticed fungi on the side of the road.  Of course I had to stop, even though I've blipped them a number of times before.  Well, it saved me going off on another fruitless blip hunt!

These open overnight as a latticed ball, and then gradually begin to collapse in on themselves.  I would guess that this one is about 2 days old.  This was probably the most recent one there but the whole verge is covered in these things in various stages of decomposition.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.