Tel's Blips

By TerryS365

Out Early with the D800

The early morning looked promising so I took the new Nikon D800 on it's first trip to my favorite stand of Oak Trees at Briddleston Park to wait for the sunrise. the trees which are part of an ancient hedge line long since removed still have their green leaves but should look spectacular as Autumn progresses.

D800 First Impressions
The camera feels better in the hand than the D700 and is slightly lighter, The rear screen and viewfinder to my mind are clearer and brighter.
This is a serious piece of kit, the files are huge and the detail contained in them is astonishing and seem to be on a par with my old medium format files. Top quality lenses and a tripod are certainly required for landscape work and exposure and focusing will have to be spot on. I think it needs to be used like a medium format camera to reach it's full potential.
First impressions are that this will be the best camera I have ever owned and that includes Hasselblad.




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.