Bricks and mortar

Once upon a time there was a building attached to this one. Then there was a big earthquake and it broke and fell down.

Now there is a temporary carpark with river gravel and mud underfoot, and artistic bricks and mortar to appreciate.

This morning was the coldest of the year so far. It was several degrees below zero so I broke out the tights over my shorts. Add shoe covers, 3 layers on the upper body, a beanie under the helmet, muff covering neck and face, and overmitts over gloves, and I was cosy warm (sort of ;-)

Most importantly I stayed upright and didn't come off on the black ice. I hope it might be a few degrees warmer tomorrow.

It was difficult to listen to the Americas Cup this morning and eat my breakfast. At lunchtime I caught up with a replay on a telly at work. We are looking good with boat, team work, and attitude.

Today's gratitude: Someone looked me in the eye and apologised. It took guts and I appreciated it. I felt quite humbled by it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.