Change

Today's sunrise signaled a weather change. Nothing dramatic but it meant a head wind later and cold feet as I didn't put my shoe covers on and the wind cut through.

Like many New Zealanders I was up for the final race of the Americas Cup. I listened and shed a few tears. They've achieved a phenomenal feat against a billionaire who thought money could buy you anything.

Mum always enjoyed the Americas Cup. She and Dad put aside the money and personalities and enjoyed the spectacle for what it is.Four years ago Mum was up and watching every race from the qualifiers to the disastrous final.

She knew every team, boat, and exactly what was happening. I think it was a good distraction from her advancing cancer. Dad has enjoyed the racing, athleticism, and eventual win. I'm glad about that.

Today's gratitude: I've enjoyed watching yacht races over lunch with my big boss 2 days in a row. It was good fun including when he suggested I become a cyclor on an Americas Cup boat. Ha, ha, ha, so long as they don't mind the boat not up on its foils.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.