TreeHugger

By TreeHugger

A treasure

Looking at this well worn and slightly tatty gold seagull, you will have no hint of the value it holds for me.  Some 38 years ago when we - my Lovely Man, son, daughter and younger son, were in the USA visiting family, the kids had caught on to the news of a large rise in gold prices, so felt compelled to buy me something in gold as a  gift. This tiny seagull was exquisite, having so much feather detail and being posed in flight.  The wings were long and elegant with tapered tips, which cannot be seen these days as, wearing it around my neck every day since I received it, I developed a habit of unthinkingly using it to slip between my front teeth while watching television or reading a book.  Eventually the poor bird had to be removed from the chain to have its other wing shortened to match the one I had damaged. Still, rounded on every edge and its detail disappearing with age, I still love it and the fact that our children made this lovely gesture.  Of course, I do have some other jewellery of much higher value, but none as precious as this. In my extra I have tried to show just how tiny it is - 2cm from wing tip to wing tip and the chain links are just 1mm. I cannot bear a day of not wearing it.
Thanks isbi for a challenging challenge.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.