Oor Wullie or the Broons?

After a quick nip up to Dunblane M and S to refill the freezer we came back , had lunch and because of the horrible weather decided to re-arrange some cupboards.
We have loads of books and some have been reluctantly put in bags for the charity shop. However for the more discerning readers in our family these books above have been kept!!

What memories!. For the past 25 years I don't think there has been a Christmas without Oor Wullie or The Broons in our house! Always a certainty in the Christmas stocking. I know that our three loved them and could not wait until their siblings had finished reading that year's edition.

I remember getting the Rupert annual way back and then Oor Wullie or the Broons followed. I loved the Broons best...maybe because there was a Maggie!!

The Sunday Post was always passed to my parents after my Aunt had read it. I used to quickly seek out the page with Oor Wullie and The Broons. (The paper was then passed on to my Grandparents who read it and then used it to light the fire.) Talk about recycling??

I'm glad to say our three have gone on to read a great selection of books but I'm sure they will always smile when they see these annuals and have very happy memories that are associated with them.

ps. Ever had a plane up your street? :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.