Stained glass

For various reasons this is going to be a lean blip day. It's pouring rain and I'm soon going to be on the road to Edinburgh again. Once I get back I'll be putting my feet up, I hope. So today I give you: the stained glass panel on the landing. I'm sure this would originally have been a window on the stair but, shortly after the house was built in 1888, a two storey extension was created on the back. This is now the kitchen and a bathroom. I say 'a bathroom' but of course until very recently it was 'the bathroom' and I expect the original owners were delighted to have it. How thoughtful to retain the stained glass which creates a lovely light on the landing. The Victorians built houses to last. The extension is made of brick, not the sandstone of the rest of the house. In the summer it's lovely and cool; in the winter it tends more to the freezing end of the heat spectrum.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.