Return to the North

By Viking

The Angel remains

No work today and weather was rubbish so I pottered around the house. Did some chores and some reading then it was out tonight to Fat club. I realised I hadn't taken a shot all day so I drove home via my old stomping ground.
This is the Crosby Angel. She is a memorial to the dead from the WW's, men who went to Crosby Primary School but never came back from serving their country.
Crosby primary school was the first and only primary school I went to. I had many years of joy there. I loved school, I loved learning (I still do). I had wonderful, caring and dedicated teachers, many of whom have since passed away all of who I am ever grateful for- they inspired me to be a teacher - one I hope inspires others to flourish.
Alas like all things time moves on. The school is being demolished to make way for flats I suspect. There was such an uproar though when they suggested taking away the Angel - so now she gets to stay.
One thing I did note - the area is much more impoverished than it used to be. It is still surrounded by terraced housing (as it was in my childhood) but whereas it was for those who aspired to home ownership it is now multiple occupancy housing with absentee landlords. It was always a multicultural area (I remember going to school nearly 50 years ago with Italians and Indians) Now it is Eastern Europeans who dominate the landscape . The houses have been left to decay and so has the community. The poverty is palpable. Immigrants who are paid the lowest the employers can get away with, the addicts and alcoholics who cannot afford to live anywhere else and the unemployed who are in the same boat. Very sad to see. Makes me wonder what the Angel sees.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.