and through the wire...

By hesscat

Don't Sit Under The Apple Tree

Not now the apples are here! It took me a while to find the original blip and I was surprised it was over 14 months ago when we planted these apple trees. It was suggested by the expert that it may take a couple of years for apples to appear and if we are lucky, one year, so we were lucky then! Both trees have apples, these "Stobo Castles" were the most impressive but they are cooking apples. It looks like I will need to learn to like home made apple pie :-/ I don't like stewed fruit!

This apple is maybe the size of an acorn, just a baby! This must be sad, but I have never seen baby apples before or seen them grow. I've been eating apples for years, I have you know, but I have never thought about how the non-stalk end is formed and now this photo explains it... I think if I'd been a few weeks earlier I might have seen exactly what happens. Is this a flower? I have no idea and can't be bothered googling it... I'll wait until next year! What a rebel...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.