Flying boat fatalities

While I was out at the north end of the town today I paid one of my regular visits to Pennyfuir Cemetery. I enjoy walking around here and reading the inscriptions on the grave stones.

My Blip today is of a row of War Graves, this line being Royal Navy and Merchant Navy graves. Behind me is a double row of aircrew graves, including three of the men who died when a Short Sunderland flying boat crashed in Caithness in 1942. The flight and crash is still a mystery - the plane was carrying the Duke of Kent and 13 others en route to Iceland and hit high ground, bursting into flames. The only survivor was the rear gunner, whose turret was thrown clear. Lots of theories, but no real answers, apparently.

My extra today is a rusty old barn down by Lochan Dubh at the far side of the cemetery.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.