The Gas Men

Today I was up with the lark - albeit a rather tardy lark - to be down at Atlantis Leisure by 8.30 to meet the Seven Gas Men, a bunch of boys from SGN. In 2014, Scotia Gas Networks, Scotland Gas Networks and Southern Gas Networks were rebranded to SGN, according to Wikipedia. I still think of it as the Gas Board. Anyway, each year each depot gives a day's work to the community, and this year it was the turn of the Community Playpark and the Millennium Garden.

Most of their day was spent in the Under 5s Playpark which is being completely rebuilt - I was misinformed and thought that it was to be the garden, but never mind. As a result only part of the work that I'd planned for them was done, but it was still worth it, though it grieved my Health & Safety soul to see a man using a very blunt chainsaw very badly to attempt to cut down a tree, without so much as a pair of earmuffs!

The chairwoman of the Playpark committee very nobly helped me to weed and clean up in the garden and later gathered the men together for a picture which will be submitted to the Oban Times in the hope that they might publish it! The new Playpark is in the foreground, the Millennium Garden in the background and the Over 5s Playpark in the distance.

PS Under pressure to put a happy picture on, even though they're not looking at my camera!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.