Show me the building warrant

Emma Woodhouse, handsome, clever, and rich, with a comfortable home and happy disposition, seemed to unite some of the best blessings of existence; and had lived nearly twenty-one years in the world with very little to distress or vex her.

I breeze into Edinburgh, picking up a street space by Maybury. Security at the airport decide I need a frisk, but I'm through with plenty of time. The flight is full, but I doze comfortably by the window. And there's no queue at the rental desk. They even let me have a tiny C1, which is perfect.

At the AirBNB in Uithoorn things are even better. It's a groovy loft conversion above a micro brewery. The bathroom is spacious and functional, the beds are comfortable. The ironing board actually works - I use it straight away, shower and head to Vinkelveen to run my evening course.

There are 30-ish people at the session. They've laid on a buffet supper and I do an hour lecture followed by an hour workshop. All the attendees are given a copy of my book and they give me a picture book of local landscapes.

I'm back in Uithoorn by 9:30 so I go to the local and have overpriced satay and an Amstel. There are two "welcome beers" in the fridge at the flat - made here, brown, slightly sweet and strong. I drink them both, watch Pickup On South Street and go to bed way too late. Oh well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.