Corporate statement

We are sometimes so happy, and never in our lives have we known more unhappiness. It’s as if we were working together on the same statue, cutting it out of each other’s misery. But I don’t even know the design.

The sleeping pills can’t keep me asleep beyond 5. I awake, sweating, sure that we’ve ordered the wrong workbooks for Friday.

I get into the client site just after 7. I speak to my accountant and my mum’s financial advisor. The closing date for a flat in Kinghorn is tomorrow and we’re all stressed. Gruesome.

The class goes alright. It’s a corporate success story with dark pits and frightening practices yawning behind every anecdote. There are chunks of light, but salvation is well beyond my gift.

I head for Red Haven for dinner and opt for the happy hour $5 ‘small plates’ at the bar. An Old Fashioned, followed by cherry and radish bisque. Fry (flash fried courgette flower stuffed with ricotta) and Mash (balls of cheesy potato, a battered smelt balanced on the top) with a glass of Smashberry red.

I might even have cheese for afters!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.