Tiny tower

What do air traffic controllers do?
They issue instructions, advice and information to pilots by radio to keep air traffic flying safely, efficiently and quickly. Broadly, they tell aircraft to go up, go down, turn right, turn left speed up and slow down.

I’m up and out and off to Glasgow.

A quick call with Alberto in Italy before boarding. The flight leaves on-time. Cous-cous for lunch, Mollys Game for entertainment, and then a technical review of Frances’ machine learning book.

I have another run in with immigration at Philadelphia. The guy wants to know why I’m not leaving until Monday. Apparently I’m not allowed to visit friends while I’m in on a business visa. I think he’s making it up, but I say nothing and look contrite. He signs me in for 30 days after all.

A quick call with Claire and it’s time to board for Detroit. They force me to check my duty free into the hold, so I have to wait for it at the carousel. It’s the first item out!

An hour and a quarter of Michigan rush hour gets me to my Okemos Airbnb. I walk out through the evening humidity to grab a ready made salad at the local store. I eat it sitting out in the back garden.

There’s no-one about. I lock my door, gobble a couple of sleeping pills, and go to bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.