Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Commonwealth War Cemetery - Cannock Chase

I really hadn't expected to end up at this location today.  The weather forecast had suggested it was a 'staying in' day and it had begun by me heading into the loft to start the mammoth task of reducing the amount of items stored over the last 22 years.  I made in-roads, but I suspect there are a few weeks of work to finally get the loft back to some semblance of order.

I got a call at lunch time.  I was needed to ferry someone to Cannock and pick them up a couple of hours later.  Killing time has rarely been a problem and I drove onto the Chase, planning some landscape photography.  It was lucky there was no one behind me as I noticed this scene as I hit the brakes, hard.  The Commonwealth Cemetery was awash with roses, interspersed between the white headstones.  It was a stunning display.  Suffice to say it kept my attention for the two hours, despite the rain.  I've added some extras with a special nod to our NZers in one image.  I even met one of their fellow citizens, over in the UK and visiting various war time sites associated with New Zealand exploits in the war.  Only the other day she had visited the site of a Lancaster Bomber crash on the Yorkshire Moors.  We passed a few minutes together, me resisting the temptation to ask if she knew any of you!  I've yet to meet a NZer I didn't immediately warm to.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.