Rebuilding

By RadioGirl

Wednesday 28th June 2017

Some "me" time for a few hours in London having my hair done and stocking up on cosmetics that I can't get in the local shops. Hair and make-up are my only extravagances while I'm just on my work pension - thanks to the government I must now wait an extra six years for the state pension which, for most of my working life, I was expecting to receive at the age of 60. Still, at least I was able to retire at 55 and spend this precious time with Mum - you can't put a price on that. She has taught me how to look nice on a small budget, and we have fun finding stylish clothes for ourselves in charity shops and on the sale rails in supermarkets.

Liverpool Street is a station I have known all my life, but it has changed so much over the years that it barely resembles the grimy, dark and foreboding place I remember as a child. The only thing that hasn't changed is its busyness. My Extras picture shows a colourful flower stall on the street level entrance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.