Free Bird

Dull and grey today but the water had odd mercurial tones. 
Free Bird by the wondrous Lynyrd Skynyrd, recorded at Knebworth in August 1976 - and I was there! The Stones were headlining and me and my pal were somewhere in a mass of humanity on the hill. A few months before this, fresh out of uni, I had applied for a job at Knebworth House.
as Curator! Two interviews with the lovely David Lytton-Cobbold I got down to the last two out of 70 original candidates. Finally the other candidate got the job due to my inexperience. The right decision I reckon but that could have been something. I did get tickets to the festival though.

Not much to report today except I was exceptionally brave and went to the dentist - my least favourite thing in the world. I broke a bit off my tooth when tackling a baguette in Bristol airport two weeks ago and could only be seen now. Mark was brilliant! He patched me up and not a hint of injections or drills, all the while singing along to the radio. He inspired such confidence that I have actually booked up a check up with him - gulp.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.