Nikksnacks

By Nikksnacks

A - Z food challenge - A is for Afghanistan

This is the first night of the food challenge that my Jbeau has set for me. I have to go through the alphabet, from A to Z, select a country and cook a dish from that region.

So, for A, I chose Afghanistan and decided to cook Osh Pyozee (stuffed onion) and Bouranee Baunjan (aubergine w yoghurt sauce). Both these recipes can be found on the Afghan Cooking channel

I'm delighted to say they turned out super delicious, particularly the stuffed onions, which is filled with minced beef, prunes and rice and then baked in the oven for 2 hours. The aubergine stack was also tasty with a smoky flavour and a good punch of chilli.

It was hard to pick a photo that did justice for both dishes but this was the best shot of both (thanks Jbeau for taking it). There are more pics on my flickr site.

Tomorrow is B - Brazil - and I've chosen a couple of sweet dishes to try. Stay tuned!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.