A good day...

...did stuff.

When I got home it was still raining. But I didn't want to be indoors, so sat in the driving rain on my swing...my bottom half of jeans got soaked but rest of me was dry.

Popeye wasn't too keen on me sitting out in the cold rain, but I just wanted fresh air. Before my arthritis took hold I would have been walking miles in any kind of weather. I have always loved being out in rain.

I had no idea rain was quite as noisy as this. This mapping picks up the rain as very noisy on the swing thatch. A very solid sharp noise on the thatch.

Anyway I finally came in, but Popeye didn't want to come in! He wanted to stay on the comfy cushions and pillows on the swing.

I picked a bit of ferns. Used them to iron wax on this encaustic painting. Then pulled the leaves off, and you can see the impression the ferns made. It is a very small piece because it was not easy to do in larger. I just did it on scraps of paper. I was experimenting, but next time I need to do it on a thick piece of prepared card, because the paper curved/curled up with the heat of the iron, and the fern thickness of wax began leaving the paper.

It made a nice pic for today for my pic a day every day in 2017 challenge to myself.

I will look in a bit later at your blogs etc because I need sleep now. I know it's only 7pm! But I was out practising listening today with this mapping, and I never had a sleep when I got home because I wanted to sit out in the rain!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.