Hills cemetery #6

I went for a trip to my local cemetery today, and it has changed so much since I last visited about a month ago, everything is so much higher than it was before. I was really pleased to see the local council had decided not to cut a lot of the very oldest part, and the gravestones were nestled in a 'sea' of waving grasses and wild flowers - which looked really attractive. The newer parts that had been mown had been mown early enough to allow a regrowth of yellow Bird's foot trefoil and while clover, making a natural carpet underfoot.
Parts of the cemetery were also awash with the colour and smell of lavender, which was a magnet to numerous bumble bees, buzzing loudly as they went about their work. I think this absolute beauty is a male red-tailed bumble bee Bombus lapidarius I really love the combination of colours and his little yellow tuft of facial hair!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.