Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Dartford Warbler

Having checked the weather forecast, I planned for a trip to the coast for the last main day of my week off - possibly the coast around Chichester and Bognor Regis.  However, by this morning the forecast had changed, and clearly I needed to head westwards!

Hengistbury Head, near Bournemouth, caught my eye as a site of international importance in terms of archaeology and as a nature reserve with a number of protective area recognitions. 

I had a great day, but the highlight was seeing a relatively rare bird, the Dartford Warbler.  Once again the limited reach of my 70-300mm lens, even at 480mm on my crop sensor camera, meant I struggled to get a good shot, but I was quite pleased with this one.  

The extra is a general view from the headland across the entrance to Poole Bay, with the Isle of Wright and The Needles in the background

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.