Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Reading, Old & New

I went into Reading today on a couple of errands. I normally take the train but today I drove as I had other places to go on the way home. I don't often go to the top floor of the multi-storey car park, but I'm always glad when I do as I love to see a different vantage point than I'm used to seeing.

This view shows a variety of buildings built over the decades and centuries. In the foreground are the roofs and back of older buildings on Gun St. The church spire is St Mary's Butts. To the left is the Broad St Mall (previously called 'The Butts Centre') and a tall office building (both ugly structures from the 60s/70s - what WERE they thinking??) and in the middle is a recent and slightly more attractive high-rise development.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.